Disclaimer: This website is operated by a private company and is not affiliated with the United States government.

ESTA Eligibility Test

Tourism & Travel



U.S Flag

ESTA for Swiss citizens: Visiting USA with a B-2 Tourist Visa or Travel Authorization


Every individual from Switzerland who plans to visit the United States must possess a valid visa or travel authorization (ESTA), except for green card holders. While a visa is granted by a US embassy, the travel authorization is obtained online. The Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) functions as a digital platform created to simplify the application process for the U.S. Visa Waiver Program. For Swiss nationals intending to travel to the USA by air or sea, securing travel authorization through ESTA is a necessary step before embarking on their journey.

What are the requirements to apply for an ESTA as a Swiss national?

Citizens of Switzerland who are eligible for the Visa Waiver Program, among 40 other qualifying countries, can apply for travel authorization. This involves completing an ESTA application. It’s important to have a biometric passport with a microchip and the relevant symbol on the cover. The Visa Waiver Program allows for stays of up to 90 days, covering various purposes like tourism, business, transit, healthcare, or participation in non-credited study programs.

If you’re planning to travel, it’s advisable for Swiss travelers to apply for ESTA before making any hotel or flight arrangements, as a full visa might be required. Once your ESTA application is approved, you can even update it with your final travel details before your departure.

Checklist for Swiss travelers visiting the United States of America

  • Valid Passport
  • Approved ESTA, visa or other travel authorization
  • Travel Insurance
  • Itinerary and accommodation details
  • Emergency Contacts
  • Travel Maps and Apps
  • Internet Access
  • Methods of payment and local currency (USD)
  • Transportation Options
  • Read the latest news
  • Language Translation App (If Needed)
  • Adaptors for 110V
U.S Flag

Visa Waiver Program Designated Countries

  • Andorra
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Brunei
  • Chile
  • Croatia
  • Czech Rep.
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • South Korea
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • San Marino
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • United Kingdom