Disclaimer: This website is operated by a private company and is not affiliated with the United States government.

ESTA Eligibility Test

Tourism & Travel



U.S Flag

ESTA for New Zealanders: Visiting USA with a B-2 Tourist Visa or Travel Authorization


All New Zealanders intending to travel to the United States of America must possess a valid visa or travel authorization (ESTA), except for green card holders. While a visa is granted through a U.S. embassy, the travel authorization is obtained online. The Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) functions as a digital platform created to simplify the application process for the U.S. Visa Waiver Program. For those from New Zealand planning to journey to the USA by air or sea, obtaining travel authorization through ESTA is a mandatory step before commencing their voyage.

What do New Zealanders need to provide when applying for an ESTA?

Only citizens from 40 specific countries, including New Zealand, are eligible for the Visa Waiver Program. To obtain travel authorization, New Zealanders must complete an ESTA application. It’s essential to have a biometric passport with a microchip and the relevant symbol on the cover. The Visa Waiver Program allows stays of up to 90 days, covering purposes like tourism, business, transit, healthcare, or participation in non-credited study programs.

For New Zealanders planning to travel, it’s advisable to apply for an ESTA before arranging hotels or flights, as a full visa might be required. Once your ESTA application is approved, you can update it with your final travel details before departure.

Checklist for New Zealanders visiting the United States of America

  • Valid New Zealand Passport
  • Approved ESTA, visa or other travel authorization
  • Travel Insurance
  • Itinerary and accommodation details
  • Emergency Contacts
  • Travel Maps and Apps
  • Internet Access
  • Methods of payment and local currency (USD)
  • Transportation Options
  • Read the latest news
  • Language Translation App (If Needed)
  • Adaptors for 110V
U.S Flag

Visa Waiver Program Designated Countries

  • Andorra
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Brunei
  • Chile
  • Croatia
  • Czech Rep.
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • South Korea
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • San Marino
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • United Kingdom