Disclaimer: This website is operated by a private company and is not affiliated with the United States government.

ESTA Eligibility Test

Tourism & Travel



U.S Flag

ESTA for Austrian citizens: Visit USA with a B-2 Tourist Visa or Travel Authorization


The Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) functions as a digital platform specifically designed to simplify the application procedure for the U.S. Visa Waiver Program. If you’re planning to travel to the USA by air or sea, securing travel authorization via ESTA is a mandatory step before commencing your voyage. Unless you hold a green card, all Austrians intending to visit the United States must possess a valid visa or travel authorization (ESTA). While visas are granted by U.S. embassies, travel authorizations are obtained through an online application process.

What are the prerequisites for Austrians applying for an ESTA?

Citizens of 40 specific countries, including Austria, are eligible for the Visa Waiver Program. To obtain travel authorization, citizens of Austria must complete an ESTA application. It’s essential to have a biometric passport with a microchip and the relevant symbol on the cover. The Visa Waiver Program allows stays of up to 90 days, covering purposes like tourism, business, transit, healthcare, or participation in non-credited study programs.

For Austrians planning to travel, it’s advisable to apply for an ESTA before arranging hotels or flights, as a full visa might be required. Once your ESTA application is approved, you can update it with your final travel details before departure.

Checklist for Austrians visiting the United States of America

  • Valid Passport
  • Approved ESTA, visa or other travel authorization
  • Travel Insurance
  • Itinerary and accommodation details
  • Emergency Contacts
  • Travel Maps and Apps
  • Internet Access
  • Methods of payment and local currency (USD)
  • Transportation Options
  • Read the latest news
  • Language Translation App (If Needed)
  • Adaptors for 110V
U.S Flag

Visa Waiver Program Designated Countries

  • Andorra
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Brunei
  • Chile
  • Croatia
  • Czech Rep.
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • South Korea
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • San Marino
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • United Kingdom