Skip to main content

U.S. Immigration Support is an information website not affiliated with the United States government. We do not provide legal services.

Start ESTA Application

Do you live in the same country as your citizenship?

ESTA Visa Waiver: How to visit the United States (ESTA)

If you’re planning to visit the United States for business, tourism, or while in transit, understanding the ESTA Visa Waiver Program can be instrumental. This article provides an in-depth overview of the program and helps simplify the application process for potential travelers.

ESTA Application

What is an ESTA visa waiver?

The Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) is an integral part of the U.S. government’s efforts to enhance the security measures for inbound international travel. Introduced by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security in 2008, ESTA is an automated system that screens passengers before they depart for the United States. Unlike a traditional visa, which can involve prolonged processing times and in-person interviews, ESTA is predominantly an online procedure that is both faster and more efficient.

The primary purpose of ESTA is to assess the eligibility of individuals from Visa Waiver Program (VWP) countries and ensure they don’t pose a security risk. This pre-authorization process involves an examination of an applicant’s personal details, passport information, and other essential data. Based on this assessment, travelers either receive approval to board U.S.-bound flights or are advised to apply for a visa through the traditional route.

While ESTA has streamlined the process for many tourists and business travelers, it’s crucial to note that approval doesn’t equate to automatic entry into the U.S. It merely serves as a first step, granting the holder the permission to embark on their journey, with the final entry decision resting upon arrival in the hands of the U.S. Customs and Border Protection officers.

Visa Waiver Program Designated Countries

  • ESTA CountriesAndorra
  • ESTA CountriesAustralia
  • ESTA CountriesAustria
  • ESTA CountriesBelgium
  • ESTA CountriesBrunei
  • ESTA CountriesChile
  • ESTA CountriesCroatia
  • ESTA CountriesCzech Republic
  • ESTA CountriesDenmark
  • ESTA CountriesEstonia
  • ESTA CountriesFinland
  • ESTA CountriesFrance
  • ESTA CountriesGermany
  • ESTA CountriesGreece
  • ESTA CountriesHungary
  • ESTA CountriesIceland
  • ESTA CountriesIreland
  • ESTA CountriesIsrael
  • ESTA CountriesItaly
  • ESTA CountriesJapan
  • ESTA CountriesSouth Korea
  • ESTA CountriesLatvia
  • ESTA CountriesLiechtenstein
  • ESTA CountriesLithuania
  • ESTA CountriesLuxembourg
  • ESTA CountriesMalta
  • ESTA CountriesMonaco
  • ESTA CountriesNetherlands
  • ESTA CountriesNew Zealand
  • ESTA CountriesNorway
  • ESTA CountriesPoland
  • ESTA CountriesPortugal
  • ESTA CountriesSan Marino
  • ESTA CountriesSingapore
  • ESTA CountriesSlovakia
  • ESTA CountriesSlovenia
  • ESTA CountriesSpain
  • ESTA CountriesSweden
  • ESTA CountriesSwitzerland
  • ESTA CountriesTaiwan
  • ESTA CountriesUnited Kingdom

© 2024 U.S. IMMIGRATION SUPPORT - All Rights Reserved